Home » Uncategorized » The best music for improving focus and increasing productivity

The best music for improving focus and increasing productivity

I cannot conceive of music that expresses absolutely nothing – Bela Bartok

This is a topic that may split a lot of people, however I definitely think that they are a few genres of music that will increase your focus. People’s musical tastes vary wildly, but if you’d like to keep an open mind and check out some of the recommendations below, you might find something that you can switch on relax and focus with, helping you focus.

I personally find that during different times of the day, I like to listen to different music to help me focus. However, there are two genres that really stand out for helping me when I’m working or needing to focus. You can listen to these straight away from the links and playlists and the bottom of the page to see if you agree with me or not.

The first is classical music. Perhaps the most obvious choice (as opposed to extreme metal), classical music has again and again been proven to help aid concentration and relaxation.

It’s best just to put on your headphones, put on a playlist, and then begin what you need to do. Buy a few classic albums – I have listened to classical music here and there to help my focus, and it works, but I don’t know names of songs, composers or albums – just that most of it really does help. I’ve listed a couple of albums below for you to check out, so give them a try next time you’re studying or working and see how much you relax.

The second is jazz music. Ever since I’ve found Jazz Radio – http://www.jazzradio.com/ I find it great for a pick-me-up mid-morning to afternoon. I personally prefer no lyrics because there is less to focus on, but there’re so many variations that you’re bound to find something you love. My favourites are ‘classic jazz’ – for the times I need to concentrate, and ‘bop’, for when I’m doing something a little more active. Give all the variations a try – jazzradio is a fantastic free service.

Lastly, I would have to personally say that post-rock (link to explosions in the sky) is a very relaxing genre with some great bands for focusing, but I’ll leave it up to you to fill this one in.

When looking for music to focus with, try to avoid anything overly loud, aggressive, repetitive, or lyric-heavy. Instead, soft background music that is progressive and rolls along nicely without being intrustive seems to work really well.

I can almost guarantee that switching your music choice from your local pop radio station to a classical album will at least double your productivity – just keep your mind open.

Give some of the playlists in this article a try, even if just for 10 minutes while you work, and let me know how much they helped you out (these aren’t my playlists, but three of my favourites).

Leave a Reply

